Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont's life

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont was born in Brussels, into a noble family and free from need. He could have made do with the family fortune to enjoy life, but our young friend decided to study philosophy at the University of Louvain. At 17, he already received his philosophy diploma. It’s that Van Helmont is a brilliant spirit.

He then turned to other scientific subjects such as algebra, geometry and finally medicine. He graduated as a medical doctor at the age of 20.

But he was not convinced by the medicine of the time. Also, he continues to seek his way.

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont's discoveries

He decides to turn to alchemy, the ancestor of chemistry. And he attacks the four elements of Aristotle: fire, air, water, and earth. And he says that neither earth nor fire are elements.

To prove his hypotheses, he performs experiments.

For Van Helmont, “fire is lit smoke”. To demonstrate his idea, he uses the experience of the candle. It consists of putting out a candle with a long wick. As you know, smoke comes out of the extinguished wick. Then he approaches another lit candle, close enough so that the extinguished wick will light again.

Through his various experiments, he observes that materials like coal or the fermentation of grape juice release a kind of vapor. Back then, people called it “spirit.” Van Helmont called it “gas”. And in his particular case, it is the carbon dioxide that he identified, the famous CO2. The greenhouse gas.

To prove that the earth is not an element, he makes another experiment. He decides to plant a willow in a container, with a well-defined amount of soil and that he weighs. For 5 years, he watered the plant with filtered rainwater. And then he weighs the tree and the earth.

He observes that the tree has gained 167 lb, while the earth has lost only 2 oz. From his experience, he says that it is not the earth that turns into a tree, but the water that turns into wood and roots.

We know today that it is not water that turns into bark or roots, but that the growth of the tree also depends on another mechanism called photosynthesis. It’s the energy of light that turns water, carbon dioxide and minerals into organic compounds.

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

January 12, 1579

death date illu

December 30, 1644

Belgium

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

La vie de Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont est né à Bruxelles, dans une famille noble et à l’abri du besoin. Il aurait pu se contenter de la fortune familiale pour profiter de la vie, mais notre jeune ami décide d’étudier la philosophie à l’Université de Louvain. À 17 ans, il reçoit déjà son diplôme de philosophie. C’est que Van Helmont est un esprit brillant.

Il se tourne ensuite vers d’autres matières scientifiques comme l’algèbre, la géométrie et enfin la médecine. Il obtiendra son diplôme de docteur en médecine à l’âge de 20 ans.

Mais il n’est pas convaincu par la médecine de l’époque. Aussi, il continue à chercher sa voie.

Les découvertes de Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

Il décide de se tourner vers l’alchimie, l’ancêtre de la chimie. Et il s’attaque aux quatre éléments d’Aristote : le feu, l’air, l’eau et la terre. Et il affirme que ni la terre ni le feu ne sont des éléments.

Pour prouver ses hypothèses, il réalise des expériences. 

Pour Van Helmont, « le feu est une fumée allumée ». Pour démontrer son idée, il exploite l’expérience de la bougie. Elle consiste à éteindre une bougie à longue mèche. Comme vous le savez, une fumée s’échappe de la mèche éteinte. Ensuite, il approche une autre bougie allumée, assez près pour que la mèche éteinte se rallume.

Par ses différentes expériences, il observe que les matériaux comme le charbon ou la fermentation du jus de raisins libèrent une sorte de vapeur. À l’époque, les gens appelaient cela « esprit ». Van Helmont, lui, la baptisa « gaz ». Et dans son cas particulier, c’est le gaz carbonique qu’il identifia, le fameux CO2. Le gaz à effet de serre.

Ichtyosaure

Pour prouver que la terre n’est pas un élément, il fait une autre expérience. Il décide de planter un saule dans un bac, avec une quantité de terre bien définie et qu’il pèse. Pendant 5 ans, il arrose la plante avec de l’eau de pluie filtrée. Et ensuite, il pèse l’arbre et la terre.

Il observe que l’arbre a pris 76kg, tandis que la terre n’a perdu que 57g. Par son expérience, il dit que ce n’est pas la terre qui se transforme en arbre, mais l’eau qui se transforme en bois et en racines.

Nous savons aujourd’hui que ce n’est pas l’eau qui se transforme en écorce ou en racines, mais que la croissance de l’arbre dépend aussi d’un autre mécanisme qu’on appelle la photosynthèse. C’est l’énergie de la lumière qui transforme l’eau, le gaz carbonique et les minéraux en composés organiques.

Jean-Baptiste Van Helmont

12 janvier 1579

30 décembre 1644