Mary Anning

Mary Anning (May 21st, 1799 – March 9, 1847) is a self-taught British paleontologist. Having started by collecting fossils to sell them to amateurs, it is now recognized as an essential figure in the history of vertebrate paleontology.

Mary Anning

Mary Anning's life

Mary Anning was born in a small village in the south of England in 1799. She is known to have found dinosaur fossils at the age of 12. Today all children know about dinosaurs, but at the time of Mary, very few people knew about these prehistoric animals.

The incredible thing is that Mary is not a scientist. She hunted fossils and then sold them to collectors or scientists. With the money she earned, she could support her very poor family. Scientists were traveling around the world to observe its collection.

Mary Anning's discoveries

Among her most important discoveries is the complete skeleton of an ichthyosaur which she finds at the age of 12. In 1821, she made a major discovery, she discovered the skeleton of a plesiosaur, the Plesiosaurus dolichodeirus, still considered today as the type specimen of this species.

Ichtyosaure

In 1828, she discovered an important pterodactyl fossil, a Pterodactylus macronyx, the first found outside of Germany. She resells the fossil to William Buckland who will give it the name of dimorphodon.

Pterodactylus macronyx

These findings are also important to scientists of the time because they prove that species can go extinct. What nobody could admit because according to their belief, it was God who had created all living beings during Creation.

Mary Anning

21st May 1799

21st March 1847

United-Kingdom

Mary Anning (21 mai 1799 – 9 mars 1847) est une paléontologue autodidacte britannique. Ayant commencé par récolter des fossiles pour les revendre aux amateurs, elle est aujourd’hui reconnue comme une figure incontournable dans l’histoire de la paléontologie des vertébrés.

Mary Anning

La vie de Mary Anning

Mary Anning est née dans un petit village au sud de l’Angleterre en 1799. Elle est connue pour avoir trouvé, à l’âge de 12 ans, les fossiles de dinosaures. Aujourd’hui tous les enfants connaissent les dinosaures, mais à l’époque de Mary, très peu de personnes connaissaient ces animaux préhistoriques.

Ce qui est incroyable c’est que Mary n’est pas une scientifique. Elle chassait les fossiles pour les revendre ensuite à des collectionneurs ou des scientifiques.  Avec l’argent gagné elle pouvait faire vivre sa famille qui était très pauvre. Les scientifiques se déplaçaient du monde entier pour observer sa collection.

Les découvertes de Mary Anning

Parmi ses découvertes les plus importantes, il y a le squelette complet d’un ichtyosaure qu’elle trouve à l’âge de 12 ans. En 1821, elle fera une découverte majeure, elle découvrira le squelette d’un plésiosaure, le Plesiosaurus dolichodeirus, encore considéré de nos jours comme le spécimen type de cette espèce.

Ichtyosaure

En 1828, elle découvre un important fossile de ptérodactyle, un Pterodactylus macronyx, le premier trouvé hors d’Allemagne. Elle revend le fossile à William Buckland qui lui donnera le nom de dimorphodon.

Pterodactylus macronyx

Ces découvertes sont aussi importantes pour les scientifiques de l’époque car elles prouvent que les espèces peuvent s’éteindre. Ce que personne ne pouvait admettre car selon leur croyance, c’était Dieu qui avait créé tous les êtres vivants lors de la Création.

Mary Anning

21 mai 1799

9 mars 1847