The brain

The body

New therapy

Why

Last news

Heard on the radio

The protective mask through History

If there is one object that symbolizes the coronavirus pandemic that affects the entire planet these days, it is the mask. A small square of plastic or fabric that has become essential to protect ourselves from the spread of Covid-19. This accessory, which acts as a barrier to microbes and other harmful substances, is not new. Thanks to the observation of the first “scientists” and doctors of the past, the mask was created, it must be said, to protect us. Here is the little story of the mask. […]

Belgian inventors

Andreas Vesalius, the father of anatomy

Anatomy is the science that studies the shape, structure, and positioning of the organs in our body. And the father of anatomy is none other than the Belgian André Vésale. […]

Body

AIDS explained to my children!

AIDS, also known as HIV (for the human immunodeficiency virus), is a serious disease transmitted by a virus. This disease is serious and could possibly be fatal. And if it is unfortunately so famous, it is that we cannot cure it yet. […]

Belgian inventors

Peter Piot and the discovery of the Ebola virus

Peter Piot, also called Baron Peter Piot, is a Belgian microbiologist, born in Leuven in 1949.

He grew up in a rural village in Flemish Brabant, and very early on he was interested in science and disease. It’s no surprise that he first studied science and then medicine at the University of Ghent. […]

Medecine

Why do we cry?

Tears are made by glands that are above the eyelid. They are called the lacrimal glands […]

Medecine

Why do we hear? How it works ?

To understand how we hear, we must know that sounds are movements of the air. When we speak or when we play music, we create vibrations in the air. […]

Le cerveau

Le corps

Les nouvelles thérapies

Les pourquoi ?

Dernières publications

Le masque de protection à travers l’Histoire

Disciplines

S’il est bien un objet qui symbolise de nos jours la pandémie de coronavirus qui affecte la planète entière, c’est bien le masque. Un petit carré de plastique ou de tissu devenu indispensable pour se protéger de la propagation du Covid-19. Cet accessoire qui fait office de barrières aux microbes et autres substances nocives ne date pas d’hier. C’est grâce à l’observation des premiers « scientifiques » et médecins du passé que le masque a été créé, il faut le dire, pour nous protéger. Voici la petite histoire du masque. […]

André Vésale, le père de l’anatomie

Disciplines

L’anatomie, c’est la science qui étudie la forme, la structure et le positionnement des organes de notre corps. Et le père de l’anatomie n’est personne d’autre que le Belge André Vésale. […]

Disciplines

La maladie du Sida expliquée à mes enfants !

Le sida, aussi appelé VIH (pour virus de l’immunodéficience humaine), est une maladie grave transmise par un virus. Cette maladie grave peut-être mortelle. Et si elle est malheureusement si célèbre, c’est qu’on ne peut pas encore la guérir. […]

Disciplines

Jean Palfyn, l’inventeur des forceps

On connaît bien plus son invention que son nom et pourtant, il a facilité la naissance de beaucoup de bébés. Il s’agit de Jean Palfyn, l’inventeur du forceps, entre autres choses. Jean Palfyn La vie de [...]
Immunologie

Peter Piot et la découverte du virus Ebola

Peter Piot, appelé aussi Baron Peter Piot, est un microbiologiste belge, né à Leuven en 1949.

Il grandit dans un village rural du Brabant flamand, et très, tôt, il est intéressé par les sciences et les maladies. C’est sans surprise qu’il étudie d’abord les sciences et ensuite la médecine, à l’Université de Gand. […]